Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Manage PermissionsManage Permissions
Wednesday, 18th September 2019 - BICTA 2019 ANNOUNCES ITS WINNERS

The Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications today hosted an awards ceremony for the winners of the Brunei ICT Awards (BICTA) 2019. The event took place at The Core Lecture Hall, Universiti Brunei Darussalam.

Present as the Guest of Honour at the ceremony was the Minister of Transport and Infocommunications, Yang Berhormat Dato Seri Setia Awang Abdul Mutalib bin Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Setia Dato Paduka Haji Mohammad Yusof. Also present was Dato Seri Paduka Awang Haji Matsatejo bin Sokiaw, Deputy Minister of Energy, Manpower and Industry as Chairman of the Authority for Info-communications Technology Industry of Brunei Darussalam (AITI); Yang Berhormat Dayang Siti Rozaimeriyanty binti Dato Seri Laila Jasa Awang Haji Abdul Rahman, Member of Legislative Council and AITI’s Member of Authority; Awang Haji Mohammad Nazri bin Haji Mohammad Yusof, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications as Co-Chairman 1 of BICTA 2019 Steering Committee and Dyg Florence Chong, Acting Deputy Permanent Secretary (Infocommunications Cybersecurity, Strategy and Corporate), Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications. Other guests included Permanent Secretaries, Deputy Permanent Secretaries, senior officials from government and higher learning institutions, secondary and tertiary students as well as businesses from the ICT industry.

BICTA is an annual ICT competition led by the Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications, and is jointly organised by the AITI and InfoCom Federation Brunei (IFB). This year’s BICTA is also supported by the Ministry of Education, Ministry of Religious Affairs and Darussalam Enterprise (DARe). The competition is aimed to stimulate innovation and creativity in the ICT industry amongst individuals, organisations and SMEs.

Themed as “Innovation for Digital Nation”, BICTA 2019 opened in May 2019 for participation by secondary and tertiary schools, as well as local individuals and ICT companies in three categories namely School Category, Tertiary Category and ICT Industry Category.

In his welcoming speech, the Co-Chairman I of BICTA 2019 Steering Committee, Awang Haji Mohammad Nazri stated that as a flagship project to encourage innovation, BICTA has been able to gauge more participation this year from government schools, tertiary education institutions and the ICT industry.

Maahad Islam Brunei emerged as the winner of B$3,000.00 for the School Category with their product Rubbish On Demand (ROD). Meanwhile, Sekolah Menengah Berakas was awarded the second prize of B$2,000.00 with their product titled

Personal Mobile Medical Assistance (PMMA). Chung Hwa Middle School, Bandar Seri Begawan received the third prize of B$1,000.00 for their product Tyran Maton.

Winner of the B$7,000.00 cash prize for the Tertiary Project category was Universiti Brunei Darussalam with their product Medicine Dispenser. Universiti Teknologi Brunei was named the first runner up winning B$3,500.00 for their Stroke Recovery Tool and also received B$1,750.00 as the second runner up with their product – Automated Paddy Watergate and Water Distribution Through Alternate Wetting and Drying System.

Muappy Company with their product Muappy achieved the first place for the ICT Industry Category and took home a B$10,000.00 cash prize. Buycour won the second place of B$5,000.00 for their product Buycour, while the third prize of B$2,500.00 went to AIW Enterprise for their product Pingus.

Apart from taking home the cash prizes and winning trophies, winners and runners-up in each category will also be nominated to represent Brunei Darussalam at the Asia Pacific ICT Alliance (APICTA) Awards 2019 scheduled to be held in Ha Long Bay, Vietnam from 18 to 23 November this year. The APICTA Awards is a prestigious international ICT competition in which Brunei has, to date, achieved two (2) winning awards and twenty-five (25) merits since its participation in 2008.

The event also saw the presentation of Special Awards to two (2) recipients. They are:

- Flipidea with their product Flipidea for “Research and Development Project”; and

- Ministry of Defence with its product SCANEAT for “Big Data Analytics Technology”;

There were no recipients for the other three (3) Special Awards, namely Artificial Intelligence (AI) Technology, Internet of Things (IOT) Technology and Start Up.

After the presentation of awards and prizes for BICTA 2019 recipients, the Honorable Minister of Transport and Infocommunications also launched a new mobile app called TransportBN containing convenient links to help the public access information on the Demerit Point System (SiKAP), public bus and taxi information as well as assist in the renewal of driving and vehicle licences. The Guest of Honour then proceeded to tour the products’ showcase by BICTA 2019 winners, runners-up and Special Awards recipients.