Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Manage PermissionsManage Permissions

Bandar Seri Begawan, 09th April 2019 – The Land Transport Department under the Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications is hosting the 37th ASEAN Transport Facilitation Working Group (TFWG) Meeting which is held from today, 09th April until 11th April 2019 at the Rizqun International Hotel, Gadong.

Brunei Darussalam has been assuming its chairmanship since the last 36th ASEAN TFWG Meeting held between 8th until 10th October 2018.  The opening speech was delivered by Yang Mulia Haji Rozaly bin Haji Saidon, Acting Director of the Land Transport Department in his capacity as Chairman of the 37th ASEAN TFWG Meeting.

The main agenda of the meeting among others, will be:

  • To discuss the development of the ASEAN transport facilitation matters within ASEAN including the ongoing activities.
  • To address the challenges in the implementation of the ASEAN transport development initiatives.
  • To expedite on the ratification and implementation of the transport facilitation agreements namely:  the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Facilitation of Goods in Transit (AFAFGIT); the ASEAN Framework Agreement on the Facilitation of Inter-State Transport (AFAFIST); the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Multimodal Transport (AFAMT) and the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Cross-Border Transport of Passengers by Road Vehicles (CBTP).  These agreements will facilitate seamless cross-border mobility of passengers between and among ASEAN Member States, which would enhance People-to-People Connectivity as well as stimulatetrade, tourism and investment in ASEAN.
  • To create an opportunity for ASEAN Member Countries and private sector representatives to discuss their respective cross-cutting issues and concerns as well as to exchange views in order to work out the transport facilitation issues.

  • Amongst others, some of the important deliverables and expected outcomes of this Meeting are:
  • The target of operationalization for AFAFGIT and AFAFIST set under ASEAN Transport Strategic Plan 2016-2025 / Kuala Lumpur Transport Strategic Plan (KLTSP)by 2020;
  • With regard to AFAFIST, full ratification is expected once Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore completed their ratification process targeted 2020;
  • Updates on the process for enactment of their domestic legislations on Multimodal Transport Laws or regulations where ASEAN Member States are in different stages with this initiative;and
  • Updates of the progress of refinement of Implementing Guidelines of ASEAN Cross Border Transportation of Passengers (ASEAN CBTP) where Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, and Malaysia on their readiness to conduct pilot implementation of ASEAN CBTP.

The three (3) days meeting is participated by delegates from ASEAN Member States; the ASEAN Secretariat; the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism of Japan (MLIT); the ASEAN Regional Integration Support by the EU (ARISE) as the ASEAN Dialogue Partner as well as the Transport Associations, namely the ASEAN Federation of Forwarders Association (AFFA), the ASEAN Trucking Federation (ATF) and the International Road Transport Union (IRU).

The Brunei Darussalam's delegation includes senior officials from the Land Transport Department, the Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications, other government agencies as well as local private sectors' representatives.

Issued by:

The Land Transport Department

Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications

Brunei Darussalam

TFWG 37.jpg